1985 Final Four Men's Soccer Team

Inducted 2016

Men's Soccer

In 1985, the Purple Aces men’s soccer team went an unbelievable 21-1-2 on its way to the Final Four in the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history.  They went without a loss for the first 23 matches, with the only loss coming to eventual champion UCLA.  Facing powerhouses Indiana and Penn State in the first two rounds of the tournament, the Aces earned 3-0 and 1-0 shutouts as the defense allowed just 12 goals in the regular season and 15 overall.

While the defense did its job, the offense notched 93 goals, including a program record of 15 in a shutout of Louisville.  Upperclassmen on the squad included: Dan Balassi, Ken Beul, Dan Cannon, Doug Diedrich, Joe Kofron, Tim Lane, Chris Machold, Dan McHugh, Mike Mikes, Jack Mitchell, Andrew Norton, Rob Schoenstein, Jim Short and Brian Wannemuelher.  Evansville was ranked No. 1 in the nation and was the lone unbeaten team in the nation at the time of the loss to UCLA.  All-time great Fred Schmalz was the head coach.